History House Museum has a number of exhibitions that tell the story of the people and events that have shaped the history of the City of Armadale from before the arrival of European settlers in 1830 to today.
We do this through collecting significant objects which we conserve, research, interpret and then display so that they help to tell these important local stories.
In 1967, local residents were concerned that the Armadale Kelmscott area was not preserving its rich heritage, so they formed the Armadale Kelmscott Historical Society. The Society immediately began collecting significant items from the district. As the collection grew its members voiced the need for premises to exhibit the collection.
The Society began fundraising and the then Armadale Kelmscott Shire agreed that the new museum could be built in Minnawarra Park. The Shire also agreed to help fund the building of a museum by contributing $2 for every $1 raised by the Society.
On April 25 1976 Sir Paul Hasluck opened History House to the public. It had been designed by Mr Peter Pritchard and built by local builder E J Bosvelt.
The Armadale Kelmscott Historical Society successfully ran History House for over 20 years putting on many enjoyable exhibitions and diligently collecting the districts history. Unfortunately falling membership and the ever increasing cost of keeping the museum open saw the City of Armadale take up the management of History House in 2003 ensuring the museum stayed open for everyone to enjoy today and into the future.
Click here to view opening hours, contact details and location of the History House Museum.